It’s About Bunnies

mswendygravitar8
Hello and welcome to “It’s About Bunnies”. In the fine LOST tradition of Mr. Eko, Miss. Klugh and Mr. Clean, I shall go by the somewhat formal yet mysterious moniker, Ms. Wendy. (I would have went with Mrs. Wendy, since I am one, but it just reminds me too much of Mrs. Butterworth. So, I decided to go this route).

This, obviously, is my first post so I will try to explain the reason for my blogging. In September of 2004, I met my latest obsession. And to be honest, it was truly an unexpected one. When I saw the preview for LOST, I thought “You’ve GOT to be kidding me”. Impossibly beautiful people yet again in some sort of peril . This time … a plane crash. Pretty people running from moment to moment of inpending danger, occasionally stopping to wash their pretty self in the ocean wearing only, of course, their undies (Kudos to ABC though for FINALLY showing that sometimes we ladies don’t always match our unmentionables ). But I decided to give it a try anyway. If it stinks, it’s off.
Not only did it not stink, it was the most incredible show I had ever seen. Action, drama, scares, mystery, humor, and …polar bears?! From that night on, LOST wasn’t just a tv show. It was a puzzle that needed to be solved. Television usually solves the puzzle before the episode is through. Not LOST. Even when it gave me answers, it asked me more questions. (Or as I once read on a message board a while back, that they are more clues than questions.)
But if it was the mythology that grabbed me, it was the character development that has kept me. I LOVE these characters. The writers and actors made me care about what happens (and has happened ) to them. LOST is that great book you never want to stop reading.
So, why “It’s About Bunnies”? In the Season One episode “Confidence Man” , Sawyer utters these words speaking about the first of his many reads on the island, “Watership Down”. To make something so complex so very simple. And that is what I have to be reminded of when the theories get me bogged down. When I get a little too obsessive about LOST. That I just need to step back and chill out. It’s just a television show. Enjoy it for what it is. Of course, I don’t DO it! But it’s good to set goals for yourself.
So this blog is going to be mostly about my co-dependence… I mean fondness of all that is LOST. Big stuff, little stuff, stuff that just doesn’t make any sense at all. And I have also written several LOST parodies (some recorded, others in various stages of “finished”). As soon as I figure out how to get them attached, I’ll put them on here too.
P.S. Eight more days til LOST. 8….hmmm. I wonder what THAT means?

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    jenerallylost said,

    Ms. Wendy,
    I found a link to your website on GSPN, and I must say I admire your creativity. I felt the same why you did when I saw promos for “LOST:Season 1” My first thought, oh god, its 90210 meets Survivor. And yet I tuned in one saturday night (sept 22 was my son’s meet the teacher night at school) in september and was hooked. I love the way the story and mythology has grown through the years and can’t get enough of this show. I enjoy reading your thoughts and hope you keep it up. Great job!

  2. 2

    mswendy said,

    Thank you jenerallylost! ( Love your user name, by the way) Yes, I too feared it would be Gilligan’s Island via a Calvin Kline ad. Thankfully, this was not the case. I am still amazed it slipped under the radar onto network tv.
    I will try to blog a little something everyday, even if it is minor. So, please feel free to “drop by” the bunnies hatch anytime 🙂

  3. 3

    justinthebeast said,

    hi


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

