LOST Thoughts : Cunningham’s ” UnHappy Days”

mswendygravitar7

On this past week’s episode ” Jughead”, we were made acquaintance with a young ” soldier” whose uniform brandished the name “Cunningham” . TLE on his Lost blog, mentioned something about the “Cunningham”/Happy Days connection ( which I also discussed on this week’s ” The Lost Revisited Now Podcast” , with Heath. And ,of course, when you think of the name Cunningham and Happy Days… it’s almost an involuntary reaction to think of Richie first. (played by Ron Howard).

Also on the podcast, I was talking about the ” Cunninghams want to make a bomb shelter-Lifeboat-style” episode ( ” Be the First on Your Block” ) that happened in the first season and how ” Jughead” and others like it, was very much a part of the 50’s era consciousness ( or sumthiin’ like that 😉 )

After the show was over, I continued to ponder about Happy Days’ earliest episodes before the show shifted to the ” Live Before A Studio Audience” type, for the remainder of the series. During the first season, Richie and Joanie are not the only Cunningham children. They had an older brother named Chuck. He was mostly known for being heavily into basketball. Within the first season (1974) , Chuck was played by two different actors ( Gavin O’Herlihy and Randolf Roberts). But then something happened in Happy Days second season that went on to be a part of television folklore : What happened to Chuck Cunningham?

Mysteriously, Chuck just disappeared, never to be seen or heard from again. It was if Chuck never existed. The Cunningham family nary spoke of their eldest child either. And it wasn’t even written into the show in some offhanded comment like ” Howard, I can’t believe we just dropped Chuck off at college.” kind of thing. Not a production written “postcard”, no fake offstage “phone calls”. Just vanished into thin air.

So perhaps, our ” Cunningham” 1954…was none other than Chuck Cunningham! Maybe he was secretly recruited by the military after ” the big game” at the end of high school. They told him his skills as a player would be somehow helpful and eventually had him shipped off to the South Pacific, testing H- bombs. On his mission, he is transported to The Island where richard-t7Richard Alpert and his “Band of Merry Men” are “forced” to kill him and the 17 other soldiers he was with.

And now the mystery is solved. Rest in Peace, Chuck Cunningham. Rest in Peace. 8)

7 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Kass said,

    Good catch on the casket! We haven’t had time to go back and watch it yet- but it’s been bugging me! 🙂 lol. Yeah- go ahead and link my blog and I’ll do the same- That would be great! I started just writting emails- and then last week decided it would just be easier to blog- so I need people putting more theories and such! 🙂 Thanks!

  2. 2

    mswendy said,

    Hi Kass,

    Yeah, I just finished rewatching the 4th season on Blu Ray and then started watching
    the 10 episodes that Damon and Carlton said are essential rewatches going into the 5th season. I finished ” White Rabbit” and it hit me ” Maybe that was Locke’s casket?!” But it wasn’t…*sigh* ( At least, that I could tell after a few comparision watches.)

    All the best with the Lost email/blogging transition. You can do it! 🙂

    And thanks for the link too. 8)

  3. 3

    TLE said,

    It’s weird but I actually remember watching those old Happy Days episodes with “Chuck”. I even remember when the Fonz wasn’t even the most popular character. I think he was made a major character after a couple of seasons. Great theory about “Chuck’s” island appearance, Wendy. Maybe Heath should put you “on the clock” like Jeremy does to me on our podcast. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fonzie

  4. 4

    mswendy said,

    Thanks, TLE! 🙂

    “On the Clock”…I might crack under the pressure. But that’s part of the fun, right? lol

    Remember when Fonzie had the powder blue windbreaker because the leather jacket was too “controversial”? 8)

  5. 5

    TLE said,

    The powder blue jacket, oh those were the days! I did some research and it’s available here for ordering as a Fonzie action figure: http://us.st12.yimg.com/us.st.yimg.com/I/thundermall_2013_14946116

    BTW Fonzie was the first to literally “jump the shark”. Let’s hope our favorite show does not go there (although there was that shark with the Dharma logo on it) 🙂

  6. 6

    mswendy said,

    Hi TLE,

    The LOST Action figures are the only ones I’ve ever owned… but I just might have to make an exception for Fonzie in powder blue. Too cool! LOL 🙂

    I think I am among the 4 people that actually liked Fonzie jumping the shark…epic!

    What if Jack has to physically jump the dharma shark for a time traveling element? They gave us an real frozen donkey wheel…why not?! LOL

  7. 7

    TLE said,

    Hmmm. That might make for an interesting picture for those of us that are artistically inclined…’) The best I could I “draw” were the letters TLE on the beach for my wordpress avatar . I did make my mom one of those clay plots in elementary school, which she liked at lot.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

