LOST Thoughts : Part Deux of The Variable ( or Tie Die )

mswendygravitar8

First poetry now prose..ish, for these thoughts on the episode ” The Variable”.

danielfaraday-tDaniel is now the half brother of Penny Widmore… or was… or is…We’ll find out soon enough if he’s Temple bound.

Where did lost-hurley-tHurley and lost-jin-tJin go when things started going downhill when Radzinsky and the boys showed up? My best guess… to go find miles-tMiles … to go find his dad, Pierre Chang. He’s the only one who might listen to them, if Miles tells him the truth.

Wow, Ms. Hawking! Such offense at the idea of ben-t13Ben Linus being your son. He pretty much had The Island running like clockwork until the Freighter Folks showed up. There gratitude for ya! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Penny and desmond-t1Des… sounds like their might be a cave in there future.

No Jughead in the Swan… but there will be , if lost-jack-t2Jack ,lost-kate-t1 Kate , and maybe richard-t7Ricard , finish what Daniel started.

Was it just me or when lost-sawyer-t1Sawyer and juliet-tJuliet held hands, his looked very red? Is he working on a project “behind the scenes” , much like Juliet’s former (or is that later) “boyfriend”, Goodwin? Lefleur , is …or was, in the ” Circle of Trust” , after all.

Was Ms. Hawking adamant against Daniel having any romantic relationships not just because they were distractions to his ” destiny” but that the women he chose were… related to each other (another reason they may get “hurt”)? charlotte-tCharlotte was the oldest of three sisters. Possible sisters for Charlotte: Teresa and Abigail Spencer . Or was her mother, who was in the Dharma Initiative, the ” Outsider” that Charles Widmore was visiting? This would make Charlotte the half sister of Penelope Widmore. But who could the other sister be? My guess : Libby.

Daniel said his mother is wrong. She said that Daniel was wrong? Now what?! ๐Ÿ™‚

Jack has been laying low these past few episodes. But as soon as Daniel proposed the idea of The Variable(s) , he was all for it. Right now, Jack might be thinking something along the lines of …
” Destiny…what a joke! I KNEW it! ”

I just wonder what Jack’s going to be thinking when he eventually sees lost-locke-t1John Locke again?

So, it’s confirmed now. Charles is the one who set up the fake crash. But his true motivation behind it… I think we’re going to have to wait on that ( unless they reveal that ahead of time in a clip show too ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Piano players in LOST : Daniel , Jack, Ben, sun-tSun, lost-charlie-t1Charlie… ( Not my theory but IAB’s LOST caricaturist, Scott’s… what if the “musician” who programmed the Looking Glass code was Daniel? ๐Ÿ™‚ )
Music and mathematics are intertwined and actually enhance each other. So, Ms. Hawking may have been in error for keeping Daniel from playing an instrument to concentrate on his “gift”. I wonder if this is a nod by the writers to illustrate science and faith…if used together, can be more beneficial that being to “exclusive” in one area or another?

Big clue : Daniel runs into a man at the Orchid Station who tells him he has to wear a hardhat down there. This man… is Jason ( Ariston Green) one of Ben’s Others that stormed the beach to get the pregnant women in the Season Three finale ” Through the Looking Glass” . He is most famous for getting his neck broken by lost-sayid-t1Sayid’s ankles. So, he’s alive… it’s 27 years earlier… and he looks the same. I think I’m going to need to wear a hardhat too to try and figure this out…lol. Any takers?

11 Responses so far »

  1. 2

    Wray said,

    Just my opinion, but I think the Jason sighting is much the same as the actress used for scenes in Oxford with Desmond this season (when he’s looking for evidence of Daniel Faraday) and the Oceanic employee who helped Hurley catch his plane when he was late. I don’t think it means anything unless you subscribe to certain theories…

    Which I don’t.

    I think we’re supposed to understand Widmore’s reason behind the fake crash already, but I still think that Ben had more to lose as Widmore could have “piggybacked” on other people’s efforts to find the island. And it seems he did exactly that with Penny. I am also one of the people who believe that Miles’ scene with dead Felix did more to muddy the water than to clear it up with regards to the fake plane. I was more inclined to believe Tom (Friendly) before that scene than after it!

    I’m glad to see Jack take action too, but I hope it’s ‘new. improved and evolved’ Jack.

    And most of all, I hope whatever happens gives Daniel’s death more significance – for his sake as well as his mother’s. Otherwise it’s just plain sad.

    R.I.P. Daniel ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. 3

    mswendy said,

    Hi Wray,

    It seems that TPTB really wanted us to notice that. The main difference between the stewardess and Jason is the timing. For Desmond, it was in 2007 ( only 3 years after the Oceanic crash) . But this is 1977 and Jason looks the same. Does this mean that maybe Jason, either as Dharma (or a Hostile infiltrating) went ahead in time, possibly during the Incident that is to come, spoken of in the Swan video? And like Sawyer and the gang, just becomes part of Ben’s group in the future? …who knows…LOL.

    I agree that the Miles stuff with Felix gave it more an air of ambiguity. And it does appear that Ben would have had more to lose. But it seems like , with LOST, I suspect we won’t know ” The Whole Truth” about everyone’s motives until the end…and even then, I wonder.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Yes, it’s hard for me to grasp, right now, the need for Daniel’s demise, especially since we just got him back! ๐Ÿ™‚ But it will probably play very significantly in the “big picture”

    Thanks, Wray, for your thoughts ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 4

    Capcom said,

    Haha, I noticed that Sawyer’s hands were red too, in the caps where he and Juliet have their hands up for Radzinsky. Is he doing that Scientology thing like KatieH was when her hands were supposedly purple? X-D

    Don’t forget, music and math went together on Fringe a while back as well! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

    Ditto Wray, about Widmore, Jack, and Dan’s death. Are we supposed to understand who Felix was by now? Was he the guy that Wid was beating in Ben’s video? Or did he work for Wid?

    I sure hope that we get to see Dan some more, even if he’s dead (we know how that works!). Jeremy Davies did such a superb job, he’ll be missed.

  4. 5

    Wray said,

    Me too Capcom. What’s nice is Damon and Carlton talk about him in very complimentary terms. Yea Jeremy! He’s likely to be back in some form if they can do it!

    Oh, and Ms. Wendy – I just wanted you to know that I LOVE the “ramble-on casts”.

    It’s just like sitting around and talking to my best friends…except that I’m not talking and I don’t know you people. But they are really fun and there’s some great Lost mystery debates.

  5. 6

    Capcom said,

    “…except that Iโ€™m not talking and I donโ€™t know you people.” X-D

    LOL times infinity!

  6. 7

    mswendy said,

    LOL…thanks Wray. Too funny . Yeah, these “LOST Ramble casts” are mostly unplanned. They just progress into longer shows each time we have one, knowingly or not…lol. But it’s great because it gives all of us a time to bounce theories off of each other and just have fun while we do.

    Hi Capcom,

    That’s right! Fringe did the music/math link a few episodes back. Do you think that Fringe is an offshoot of LOST and might play into each other or that theirs are separate “worlds”?

    Some people theorized that the mark Juliet had was connected to Scientology (although I think it might be something else) Now, if her hands turn purple…. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. 8

    Wray said,

    Sorry, if I am interrupting, Capcom and mswendy, but as a Fringe fan I thought I’d pipe in.

    No, I do not think the Fringe and Lost worlds are completely separate. That said there are common themes and Easter Eggs for fans of both as there have been in Alias and even Felicity. Yes, I said Felicity – strangely no one ever brings up the final season. Let’s just say Lost was not the first time JJ tackled the “consciousness time travel” idea.

  8. 9

    mswendy said,

    No, go ahead and pipe in, Wray. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I didn’t watch Felicity or Alias when they were first on the air. I wish I had. Have to hunt them down on DVD now. I heard about the ending of Felicity and it sounded very ” Twilight Zone” , which I believe is J.J.’s favorite show, if I’m not mistaken.

    That would just make complete sense that with all the “connections” within the shows… that the shows are “connected” to each other. He’s just brilliant, that Mr. Abrams! 8)

  9. 10

    Capcom said,

    Darn, two more shows that I didn’t watch, to catch up on in the near future!

    Well, when the same guy/crew is the creator of all these shows, his particular interests are sure to come out and be similiar. I believe that J.J. is friends with the Heroes peeps, and they have given a couple shoutouts to Lost on the show (I forget waht at the moment), so even friends in the biz can reference each others’ shows apparently (without the opposing networks even knowing, I guess). ๐Ÿ™‚

    Someone over at The Lost Community blog said that Juliet’s symbol is also similar to something in the Rosecrution beliefs as well.

  10. 11

    mswendy said,

    Yes, I remember that in the beginning of Heroes, people were talking about how there were a lot of connections between the two shows… and I believe it is Tim Kring and Damon that are friends. So because of the creators of these shows good friendship, there was talk that the shows were themselves part of each others “universes” and how this would be a first amongst rival networks. But I’ve been hearing less and less of that lately. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Lostpedia has a few options of Juliet’s mark’s meaning
    http://lostpedia.wikia.com/wiki/Juliet%27s_mark


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

