LOST Thoughts: Five Years Ago Today…

mswendygravitar8

On September 22nd, 2004. I was Piloting through the channels on my old tube television set. The tv landscape was like a veritable Tabula Rasa as I’d Walkabout aimlessly across it. My White Rabbit ears were drooping down, as if saddened at the prospect of yet another adequate, but ultimately dissatisfying ,new season of programming.

But in The House emanating from the screen like the luminescence of the Rising Sun, was an image of the face of a man surrounded by radiating jungle brush. I had now become The Moth to the flame of this captivating scene. The smoke, the screams, the sheer magnitude of what was being presented in such a comparably small venue.

As I watched ( and what I heard was budgeted for) what amounted to a feature film in my living room, I thought that they had some kind of Confidence, Man, to put so much monetary backing into what I assumed was a Survivor/Jurassic Park/Melrose Place hybrid. But there was a polar bear, riveting character flashbacks and a mysterious French woman’s 16 year old transmission piping through a handheld radio. And I thought ” Am I Solitary in my discovery of how magnificent this show is?” I soon learned that the ratings were Raised By Another fan…and another…and another (growing into the enormous community it is today).

Despite the fact that All the Best Cowboys Have Daddy Issues, were the writers just herding us into their own therapy sessions? Was this, like some critics/friends said….just a Gen X melodrama glossed with a Sci Fi veneer? Whatever the Case May Be, it didn’t matter. I knew it was Special. And I wasn’t alone in my assessment. It seemed like people all over the world had given it their Hearts and Minds. It was most evident in the abundance of podcasts, blogs and message boards dedicated to it. With it, came new friendships that may have never existed. People expressing their wisdom, their wit, their passion, their creativity. It was like a Homecoming for those who had experienced some level of fandom elsewhere but never to this extent. The internet was filled with Outlaws branching out from the standard fair of conventional outlets for fan appreciation.

I know that this was a new experience personally. I was …In Translation from being a once a week casual watcher to a full throttle card carrying geek! I looked at the Numbers on my driver’s license to make sure how old I was. Wasn’t I supposed to have left this kind of behavior behind many years ago?

Yet it was no use. I was hooked! Rewatching, reanalysis, reheating dinner because I was trying to finish up another post. It seems like there was no way out of the corner of this obsession, save some sort of Deus Ex Machina. But in the end, I think it will Do No Harm. In fact, it has been for The Greater Good with the myriad of subjects that have been studied trying to “figure out” what’s actually going on on this show. πŸ™‚

Well, I must Exodus from this egregiously convoluted blog entry. But not without wishing LOST a Happy 5thCrashiversary to ( IMO) the best show EVER! 8)

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    sawyerslilsassafras said,

    Just had to say… you are awesome!! Great job with your “recap” of the anniversary of Sept 22, 2004!

    And btw, I got into Lost University!! Hope you did too!!! πŸ˜€

  2. 2

    mswendy said,

    Awww, thank you, SLS! πŸ™‚ Can you believe it has been five years?

    Yes, I will be signing up. Just trying to figure out what classes to take. 8)

  3. 3

    Wray said,

    Wow! That puts it in perspective. I too accidentally watched the pilot (I almost never watch new shows or television in general) and was hooked! I can’t believe it’ll all be over soon.

  4. 4

    mswendy said,

    I know what you mean, Wray. When we get to ” Six years ago today…” it will be finished. 😦

    But on the brighter side, what a wonderful time it has been. And just a little over 100 days… we’ll get 18 brand spankin’ new episodes. πŸ™‚


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

