LOST Parody : Hey There, Salonga

This was a parody I wrote/sang for the ” Efren Salonga Extravaganza” episode for LOST Revisited Now podcast. I was going for that “slightly offkey/tired from screaming/ agitated Emo” sort of thing. 🙂

It was quite a treat because other than what was on the main script and collaborating on one of the other parodies with Donald, I didn’t really know what anyone was else doing. None of us did. So, it was a very funny and happy surprise when I got to hear it all together. (Again, thank you to Matt & Leslie, Donald and our Producer, Anna {and you too, Heath…lol}. ) 8)

But here is the first of my contributions to the episode. You can listen to the episode ( Number 72) in its entirety by clicking here. 😉

(If you would like to listen to more LOST parodies, click here). 🙂

HEY THERE, SALONGA

Hey there, Salonga
I’ve been running through this city
I’ve been shouting out your name
My girl’s in labor, it’s not pretty
But it’s true
Someone said you’d know what to do
And not just a newb

Hey there, Salonga
Don’t you worry ‘bout insurance
She’s the daughter of Charles Widmore
I can give you this assurance
You’ll get paid
Or at the very least… a trade
For some First Aid

Oh, whatcha doin’ to me
Oh, I’m screamin’ in the streets
Oh, I’m lookin’ like a freak
Oh, you’ve got a pair of threes
So, come and help me, please!

Hey there, Salonga
All this yelling’s really hard
And I’m worried ‘bout my girl
While you’re sittin’, playin’ cards
Come help me out
Don’t think I can keep up this shout
I might pass out

Efren Salonga
Seems it’s all that I can say
Not a “ Lift it up!” or “ Brutha”
As you ‘re going for a straight or a full house
Are you a doctor or a louse?
Go help my spouse!

Oh, whatcha doin’ to me
And Oh, my achin’ feet
Oh, for the love of Pete
Oh, just fold and follow me!

A thousand times I’ve said your name
It’s now tattooed inside my brain
You’d think by now all doctors’d have a phone
The viewers all made fun of me
And pointed as I ran the streets
And shouting “ Efren” in a Scottish brogue
Salonga, I can promise you
Before the time that “ Jughead” ‘s through
That podcasting will never be the same
And you’re to blame

Hey there, Salonga
You did good by Des and Penny
Two more years and we’ll be done with LOST
When you had made some history on this show
When you had stepped upon their boat
Delivered Charlie… Way to go!
Hey there, Salonga don’t ya know
We luv ya so

Oh, whatcha doin’ to me
Oh, your name is on “ Repeat”
Oh, like bleating from a sheep
Oh, but it don’t bother me
From Desmond or from Heath
I think it’s schweet
Efren Salonga
Oh Oh
Efren Salonga
Efren Salonga
Efren

HeyThereSalonga.mp3

(Parody of the song “Hey There, Delilah” by The Plain White T’s {Written by Tom Higgenson, 2004, Hollywood/Fearless } New lyrics by Wendy Lincoln, 2009)

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    anony-moose said,

    “slightly offkey/tired from screaming/ agitated Emo” – brilliant! You nailed it!

    I always thought you guys were joking about doing an Efren Salonga podcast, but you did it and it was amazing!

    When a certain Oscar nominated actress showed up, I had an uncontrollable giggle fest.

    You’ve been on something of a hot streak lately with this one, “Johhny Locke” and “I’m Henry Gale I Am”. Keep it up! Great stuff!

    Efren Salonga for life!

  2. 2

    mswendy said,

    Thank you so much! Yes, we just couldn’t let Efren just get a five minute podcast. He has become somewhat of a fixture around the LRN.

    LOL That actress made an “appearance” after one of our early morning Ramble On Casts when about 4 or 5 people were still hanging around. Her name was being dropped on occasion on the podcast. I needed an idea for my portion of the show. I was supposed to talk about “future Efren”. I had no idea what to do. Then I thought “How does LOST show the future?” With a vision. But with who? So, I thought I would ” dispel the rumors” and have her show up. ( Ironically enough, her Oscar nominated performance was of an airplane crash survivor. Coincidence?!) 😀

    Again, thank you! Working on new ones and dusting off old ones. Aiming to post a LOST parody once a week. Now, that’s the aim. Hitting the target is something else entirely. 😉

    Efren Salonga!!! Efren Salonga!!! 8)

  3. 3

    sawyerslilsassafras said,

    😀 😀 😀

    Love it.

  4. 4

    mswendy said,

    Thanks, SLS… 8)


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

